ABBEVILLE, La. (KLFY) — The Nov. 8, 2022, primary election will feature a number of mayoral, police chief, school board and council races across three Vermilion Parish towns and cities. All information provided in this post comes from the Louisiana Secretary of State’s Office.

Also included are all statewide constitutional amendments on the ballot.

Dates to Know for the Nov. 8 election

  • Last day to register in person to vote at the Vermilion Parish Registrar’s Office or OMV: Oct. 11
  • Last day to register via the GeauxVote Online Registration System: Oct. 18
  • Last day to request absentee ballot: Nov. 4, 4:30 p.m.
  • Last day to submit absentee ballot: Nov. 7, 4:30 p.m
  • Early Voting: Oct. 25 through Nov. 1 (excluding Sunday, Oct. 30) from 8:30 a.m. to 6 p.m.

Vermilion Parish Registrar of Voters


School Board

  • Dist. H
    • Chris Hebert (R)*
    • Bridgitte Mire (R)
  • Dist. I
    • Tiffany Landry (R)
    • Nick Touchet (R)


  • Mayor
    • Jessie James (R)
    • Taylor Mencacci (R)*
  • Police Chief
    • Cory Benoit (no party)
    • Anna Lapointe (Ind.)*
    • Christopher “Chris” Lemaire (R)
  • Board of Aldermen (5 to be elected)
    • Scott Bernard (no party)*
    • Stephanie P. Broussard (D)
    • Jason Conner (R)*
    • Cory J. Duplantis (no party)
    • Clarence Fusilier (D)*
    • Michael “Mike” Richard (Ind.)*


  • Board of Aldermen (5 to be elected)
    • Anita F. Dupuis (no party)
    • John Ryan Laseter (R)
    • Efrem “Zim” Livingston (D)
    • Laurel Portie’ (D)
    • Claudette Simon Price (D)
    • Greg Richard (Ind.)
    • Jason Suire (R)
    • Scott Vallo (Ind.)


  • Mayor
    • Neil Arsement (R)
    • Wayne Theriot (R)*
  • Board of Aldermen (5 to be elected)
    • Troy Catalon (R)
    • Megan Landry-Lalande (no party)
    • Warren Rost (D)
    • Jonathan Schlicher (R)
    • Matthew C. Trahan (R)
    • Scott Trahan (R)

Statewide Offices and Constitutional Amendments

U.S. Senator

  • Beryl A. Billiot (no party)
  • Gary Chambers, Jr. (D)
  • Devin Lance Graham (R)
  • “Xan” John (Other)
  • John Kennedy (R)*
  • W. Thomas La Fontaine Olson (no party)
  • Bradley McMorris (Ind.)
  • MV “Vinny” Mendoza (D)
  • “Luke” Mixon (D)
  • Salvador P. Rodriguez (D)
  • Aaron C. Sigler (Lib.)
  • Syrita Steib (D)
  • Thomas Wenn (Other)

U.S. Representative, 3rd Congressional District

  • Clay Higgins (R)*
  • Holden Hoggatt (R)
  • Lessie Olivia LeBlanc (D)
  • Tia LeBrun (D)
  • Guy McLendon (Lib.)
  • Thomas “Lane” Payne Jr. (R)
  • Jacob “Jake” Shaheen (R)
  • Gloria R. Wiggins (Ind.)

Public Service Commissioner, Dist. 4

  • Keith C. Bodin (no party)
  • “Mike” Francis (R)*
  • Shalon Latour (R)

Constitutional Amendment No. 1 — ACT 130, 2021

Do you support an amendment to increase to 65% the cap on the amount of monies in certain state funds that may be invested in stocks? (Amends Article VII, Sections 10.1(B), 10.8(B), 10.11(D), and 14(B))

Constitutional Amendment No. 2 — ACT 172, 2022

Do you support an amendment to expand certain property tax exemptions for property on which the homestead exemption is claimed for certain veterans with disabilities? (Amends Article VII, Section 21(K))

Constitutional Amendment No. 3 — ACT 156, 2011

Do you support an amendment to allow classified civil service employees to support the election to public office of members of their own families? (Amends Article X, Sections 9 and 20)

Constitutional Amendment No. 4 — ACT 155, 2021

Do you support an amendment to allow local governments to waive water charges that are the result of damage to the water system not caused by the customer? (Amends Article VII, Section 14(B))

Constitutional Amendment No. 5 — ACT 133, 2021

Do you support an amendment to allow the levying of a lower millage rate by a local taxing authority while maintaining the authority’s ability to adjust to the current authorized millage rate? (Amend Article VII, Section 23(C))

Constitutional Amendment No. 6 — ACT 129, 2021

Do you support an amendment to limit the amount of an increase in the assessed value of residential property subject to the homestead exemption in Orleans Parish following reappraisal at 10% of the property’s assessed value in the previous year? (January 1, 2023) (Amends Article VII, Section 18(F)(2)(a)(introductory paragraph) and Adds Article VII, Section 18(F)(3))

Constitutional Amendment No. 7 — ACT 246, 2022

Do you support an amendment to prohibit the use of involuntary servitude except as it applies to the otherwise lawful administration of criminal justice? (Amends Article I, Section 3)

Constitutional Amendment No. 8 — ACT 171, 2022

Do you support an amendment to remove the requirement that homeowners who are permanently totally disabled must annually re-certify their income to keep their special assessment level on their residences for property tax purposes? (Amends Article VII, Section 18(G)(1)(a)(iv))


Candidates Elected Unopposed

    • David Dupuis (no party)*
    • Kevin Meyers (R)*
    • Gregg Meaux (Ind.)
    • Dale Stelly (No party)*
    • Charlotte Detraz (R)*
    • Kibbie P. Pillette (no party)*
    • Jason A. Roy (no party)*
    • Mayor Jude Reese (R)
    • Police Chief Cru Delcambre (R)
    • Police Chief Guy Nerren (R)