LAFAYETTE, La. (KLFY) — The Nov. 8, 2022, primary election will feature a number of mayoral, police chief and council races across five Lafayette Parish cities. All information provided in this post comes from the Louisiana Secretary of State’s Office.

Also included are all statewide constitutional amendments on the ballot, as well as local tax propositions.

Dates to Know for the Nov. 8 election

  • Last day to register in person to vote at the Lafayette Parish Registrar’s Office or OMV: Oct. 11
  • Last day to register via the GeauxVote Online Registration System: Oct. 18
  • Last day to request absentee ballot: Nov. 4, 4:30 p.m.
  • Last day to submit absentee ballot: Nov. 7, 4:30 p.m
  • Early Voting: Oct. 25 through Nov. 1 (excluding Sunday, Oct. 30) from 8:30 a.m. to 6 p.m.

Lafayette Parish Registrar of Voters

  • Registrar Charlene Meaux Menard
  • 1010 Lafayette St., Suite 313, Lafayette LA 70501-6885
  • (337) 291-7140



  • City Judge City Court, Division A
    • Toby Aguillard (R)
    • Roya Boustany (R)
    • Jules Edwards III (no party)


  • Mayor
    • “Ray” Bourque Jr. (R)*
    • Corey Morgan (R)
  • City Council
    • Dist. 1
      • Jeremy Frederick (R)
      • “Angel” Racca (R)*
    • Dist. 2
      • David M. Bonin (R)*
      • Charles Sharma (R)
    • Dist. 3
      • Jesse Regan (R)*
      • Mark Ste Marie (R)
    • Dist. 4
      • Heather Girouard (R)
      • Michael Rabon (D)*
    • Dist. 5
      • David Forbes (R)
      • Ryan Romero (R)
    • Dist. 6
      • Kody Allen (R)
      • Jeremy Foco (R)
    • At-Large
      • “Jeff” Delahoussaye (R)*
      • Ray A. Gary (R)


  • Mayor
    • “Don” Chauvin (R)
    • Charlotte Stemmans Clavier (R)
  • City Council (5 to be elected)
    • Jordan Arceneaux (R)*
    • Antoine Babineaux Jr. (D)*
    • Danielle M. Capritto (R)*
    • “Kim” Guidry (R)*
    • Taylor L. James (Ind.)
    • Alfred “Al” Sinegal (D)*


  • Mayor
    • Troy Bergeron (R)
    • Jan-Scott Richard (R)*
  • Police Chief
    • Caleb Lege (R)
    • Chad J. Leger (R)*
  • City Council
    • Dist. 2
      • “Ronnie” Cormier (R)
      • Terry Montoucet, Jr. (R)*
    • Dist. 3
      • Leroy Albarado (D)
      • Lee Domingue (R)
      • Danny Hollier (R)
    • Dist. 4
      • Blaine Roy (R)
      • Kenny Suire (R)*
      • Kert Thomas (R)
    • At-Large
      • Brad Duhon (no party)
      • Jakob Goodwin (R)
      • Mark Moreau (R)
      • “Chris” Richard (R)
      • Yolanda Senegal (Ind.)


  • City Council
    • Div. E
      • Simone Champagne (R)
      • Ann Istre (R)


Parishwide Consolidated School Dist. 1 — 16.7 Mills renewal, 10 yrs.

Shall Consolidated School District No. 1 of the Parish of Lafayette, State of Louisiana, continue to levy a sixteen and seven-tenths (16.7) mills tax on all property subject to taxation in said Consolidated School District for a period of ten (10) years, beginning with the year 2025 and ending with the year 2034 (an estimated $36,990,000 reasonably expected at this time to be collected from the levy of the tax for an entire year) for the purpose of giving additional support to public elementary and secondary schools, excluding capital improvements in said Consolidated School District?

Statewide Offices and Constitutional Amendments

U.S. Senator

  • Beryl A. Billiot (no party)
  • Gary Chambers, Jr. (D)
  • Devin Lance Graham (R)
  • “Xan” John (Other)
  • John Kennedy (R)*
  • W. Thomas La Fontaine Olson (no party)
  • Bradley McMorris (Ind.)
  • MV “Vinny” Mendoza (D)
  • “Luke” Mixon (D)
  • Salvador P. Rodriguez (D)
  • Aaron C. Sigler (Lib.)
  • Syrita Steib (D)
  • Thomas Wenn (Other)

U.S. Representative, 3rd Congressional District

  • Clay Higgins (R)*
  • Holden Hoggatt (R)
  • Lessie Olivia LeBlanc (D)
  • Tia LeBrun (D)
  • Guy McLendon (Lib.)
  • Thomas “Lane” Payne Jr. (R)
  • Jacob “Jake” Shaheen (R)
  • Gloria R. Wiggins (Ind.)

Public Service Commissioner, Dist. 4

  • Keith C. Bodin (no party)
  • “Mike” Francis (R)*
  • Shalon Latour (R)

3rd Circuit Court of Appeal Judge, Dist. 3, Elec. Sec. 2D

  • Valerie Gotch Garrett (D)
  • Ledricka Johnson Thierry (D)

Constitutional Amendment No. 1 — ACT 130, 2021

Do you support an amendment to increase to 65% the cap on the amount of monies in certain state funds that may be invested in stocks? (Amends Article VII, Sections 10.1(B), 10.8(B), 10.11(D), and 14(B))

Constitutional Amendment No. 2 — ACT 172, 2022

Do you support an amendment to expand certain property tax exemptions for property on which the homestead exemption is claimed for certain veterans with disabilities? (Amends Article VII, Section 21(K))

Constitutional Amendment No. 3 — ACT 156, 2011

Do you support an amendment to allow classified civil service employees to support the election to public office of members of their own families? (Amends Article X, Sections 9 and 20)

Constitutional Amendment No. 4 — ACT 155, 2021

Do you support an amendment to allow local governments to waive water charges that are the result of damage to the water system not caused by the customer? (Amends Article VII, Section 14(B))

Constitutional Amendment No. 5 — ACT 133, 2021

Do you support an amendment to allow the levying of a lower millage rate by a local taxing authority while maintaining the authority’s ability to adjust to the current authorized millage rate? (Amend Article VII, Section 23(C))

Constitutional Amendment No. 6 — ACT 129, 2021

Do you support an amendment to limit the amount of an increase in the assessed value of residential property subject to the homestead exemption in Orleans Parish following reappraisal at 10% of the property’s assessed value in the previous year? (January 1, 2023) (Amends Article VII, Section 18(F)(2)(a)(introductory paragraph) and Adds Article VII, Section 18(F)(3))

Constitutional Amendment No. 7 — ACT 246, 2022

Do you support an amendment to prohibit the use of involuntary servitude except as it applies to the otherwise lawful administration of criminal justice? (Amends Article I, Section 3)

Constitutional Amendment No. 8 — ACT 171, 2022

Do you support an amendment to remove the requirement that homeowners who are permanently totally disabled must annually re-certify their income to keep their special assessment level on their residences for property tax purposes? (Amends Article VII, Section 18(G)(1)(a)(iv))


Candidates Elected Unopposed

    • Police Chief Vance J. Olivier (R)*
    • Police Chief David Anderson (no party)*
    • Mayor Johnny Thibodeaux (R)*
    • Alderman Coby J. Duhon (R)*
    • Alderman “Steve” Hanks (Ind.)*
    • Alderman Carroll Pepper (R)*
    • Alderman Carolyn “Peppe” Richard* (R)
    • Alderman Wade Robin (D)*
    • Councilman Doyle Boudreaux (R)*
    • Mayor “Ken” Ritter (R)*
    • Police Chief “Rickey” Boudreaux (R)*
    • Councilwoman Kayla Menard Reaux (R)*
    • Councilman “Lindy” Bolgiano (R)*
    • Councilman “Matt” Romero (R)*
    • Councilman Kenneth “Ken” Stansbury (R)*