Cajuns coach and player claim Louisiana major college hoops honors.

Cajun Nation
BOB MARLIN_1520292015399.jpg.jpg

Louisiana Ragin’ Cajuns men’s basketball coach Bob Marlin and senior guard Frank Bartley swept the state’s major college postseason awards as the duo was honored by the Louisiana Association of Basketball Coaches.


Marlin, who guided Louisiana to a school-record 27 victories and the Sun Belt Conference regular-season title, was named the recipient of the “Tommy Joe Eagles Memorial Award” as the Louisiana Major College Coach of the Year for 2018.


Bartley  was selected as the recipient of the “Pete Maravich Memorial Award” as the Louisiana Major College Player of the Year for 2018.

The Baton Rouge native and BYU transfer earned first-team All-Sun Belt Conference honors for the Ragin’ Cajuns while finishing as the league’s top free-throw shooter averaging 86.0 percent (141-for-164) from the charity line.

Marlin, a two-time LSWA Coach of the Year, led the Ragin’ Cajuns to a school-record 27 wins and the school’s first outright SBC regular-season title since 1991-92. The Tupelo, Miss., native guided the Ragin’ Cajuns to a school-record 16 victories in SBC play, a 14-1 record at home and the school’s fourth postseason trip in the past five seasons.

Marlin joins former Ragin’ Cajuns coaches Jim Hatfield (1977), Bobby Paschal (1980) and Marty Fletcher (1994) in earning LABC Coach of the Year honors. 



Copyright 2020 Nexstar Broadcasting, Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Local News

More Local