State makes offer to Louisiana parents who owe child support


BATON ROUGE, La. (AP) — Louisiana parents whose driver’s licenses are suspended because they’re behind on child support payments have through September to use a program offering a path to license reinstatement.

The Department of Children and Family Services says its “On the Road Again” program lets parents get license suspensions lifted for a reduced payment of what’s usually owed.

The deadline is Sept. 30.

To get licenses back under the program, parents must pay two months of court-ordered child support, $100 toward past-due support and court-ordered administrative fees.

They also must pay fines required by the state motor vehicles office.

Parents seeking more information can go online , speak to their caseworkers or call 1-888-524-3578.

The social services agency says it’s collected nearly $122,000 for 174 children since the license reinstatement program began Aug. 1.

Copyright 2021 Nexstar Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Local News

More Local

Trending Stories