A number of races head to a runoff in November


There are 2 statewide races and 24 races in Acadiana that will head to a runoff election in November.

Here’s a breakdown of those races.


Governor: Incumbent John Bel Edwards will face challenger Eddie Rispone. Edwards received 47% of the vote to Rispone’s 27%.

Secretary of State: Incumbent Kyle Ardoin will see a rematch of last year’s election in the runoff. Ardoin received 41% of the vote to Gwen Collins-Greenup’s 34%


Dist. 31: Jonathan Goudeau will face Gus Rantz for the seat. Goudeau received 33% of the vote to Rantz’s 28%

Dist. 37: The runoff will be between Troy Romero and Shalon Latour. Romero had 40% to 33% for Latour.

Dist. 46: Incumbent Michael Huval finds himself in a runoff with challenger Keith Baudin. Huval received 44% of the vote to Baudin’s 35%

Dist. 48: This district will have a runoff between Beau Beaullieu, 43% of the vote, and Ricky Gonsoulin with 34%.

Dist. 50: Vincent Blanc will face Raymond Harris Jr in the runoff. Blanc had 33% of the vote to Harris Jr.’s 25%


Mayor-President: In a close race, Josh Guillry received 31% of the vote. He will face Carlee Alm-LaBar who got 28% of the vote.

Lafayette Parish Council Dist. 3: This is the only Parish Council seat headed to a runoff. Jeremy Hidalgo will face Josh Carlson.

Lafayette City Council Dist. 1: Mark Pope received 32% of the vote and will face Patrick Lewis who received 31%.

Lafayette City Council Dist. 5: Glenn Lazard will face Janet Jackson for this seat in a runoff.


St. Landry Parish President: Incument Bill Fontenot finished second in the October primary with 30% of the vote. He will face front runner, Ken Marks, who received 32% of the vote.

St. Landry Parish Assessor: Sherri McGovern will face Blair Briggs in a runoff. McGovern received 41% to Briggs 33% of the vote

St. Landry Parish Council Dist. 6: Gil Savoy got 41% of the vote to Warren Basco’s 38%.


Iberia Parish Sheriff: Tomy Romero will face Murphy Meyers in the runoff. Romero was the front runner with 35% of the vote.

Iberia Parish council Dist. 10: Incumbent Eugene Oliver Sr. received 45% of the vote and will face Roger Duncan who got 34%.

New Iberia City Marshall: Tony Migues will face Brett Lang in a runoff


Evangeline Parish Sheriff: Charles Guillory and Brian Ardoin will be in a runoff. Guillory received 36% of the vote to Ardoin’s 23%.

Evangeline Parish Police Juror Dist. 1: Incumbent Rocky Rider will face Keith Saucier in a runoff

Evangeline Parish Police Juror Dist. 7: Incument Bryan Vidrine and David Ortego will square off in the runoff.


Vermilion Parish Police Juror Dist. 11: Scott Broussard and Incumbent Pervis Gaspard will face off in the runoff. Broussard received 42% of the vote to Gaspard’s 41%

Vermilion Parish Police Juror Dist. 12: Dexter Callahan and David Trahan will square off in a runoff


St. Martin Parish Council Dist. 2: Thomas Nelson, 42% of the vote, will face Carla Batiste at 36%.

St. Martin Parish Council Dist. 7: Incumbent Albert Menard will face Vincent Alexander in a runoff. Menard got35% of the vote to Alexander’s 34%.


St. Mary Parish Council Dist. 3: Peter Soprano and Rodney Olander will face each other in a runoff.

St. Mary Parish Council Dist. 10: Gwendolyn Hidalgo and Jeremy Chesteen will be in the runoff.

Copyright 2020 Nexstar Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Local News

More Local

Trending Stories