LDOE announces finalists for 2021 Louisiana Teacher and Principal of the Year Awards, 3 from Acadiana


Overall state winners to be named during virtual celebration later this year, the department said.

BATON ROUGE, La. (LDOE) – The Louisiana Department of Education today announced the finalists for the 2021 Teacher and Principal of the Year awards during a live virtual announcement on the Dream Teachers Facebook page. The 18 finalists are elementary, middle and high school educators from school systems across the state. Winners will be selected from this group and named at a virtual awards ceremony later this year.

Finalists from Acadiana are Pamela Sorensson in Lafayette Parish, and Carrie Varino and Rachelle Brown, both in Vermilion Parish.

“These 18 educators represent the very best in Louisiana and are all deserving of our state’s top honor for teachers,” said State Superintendent of Education Dr. Cade Brumley. “We’re in uncharted waters in education, but one thing that remains constant is the life-changing impact a high-quality teacher has on a child.”

“Congratulations to all of the finalists who are deserving of this incredible honor,” said First Lady Donna Edwards. “Your excellence and dedication to your students and profession are commendable. As we’ve experienced the challenges of this year, it has become even more evident that having good educators is essential to the future of our students and our state.”

The Department recognizes that great teachers and school leaders are critical to student success. Annually, the Department, in partnership with Dream Teachers and the Louisiana Association of Principals, recognizes and celebrates some of the state’s most exceptional educators through the Teacher and Principal of the Year programs. These programs provide an opportunity to acknowledge those teachers and leaders who are making exceptional gains with students. Their commitment to student success exemplifies Louisiana’s education profession.

This year, school systems from all across the state submitted nominations to the state-level Teacher and Principal of the Year process. From this impressive group, the Department is proud to announce the 2021 Teacher and Principal of the Year Finalists.

All Teacher and Principal of the Year finalists and semi-finalists will be celebrated and honored at the 14th Annual Cecil J. Picard Educator Excellence Awards Gala, which will be held virtually this year. To learn more about the current and previous Teacher and Principal of the Year honorees, visit the library. For questions about the Teacher and Principal of the Year programs, email excellenteducators@la.gov.

Copyright 2020 Nexstar Broadcasting, Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Local News

More Local

Trending Stories