Crossing Lorrain Bridge - KLFY News 10

Crossing Lorrain Bridge

Updated:
On the border of Jefferson Davis Parish there's an old structure with unique history that many have relied on since the 1800's.

The Bridge is actually a wooden structure. It is the only one like it left in the state of Louisiana.

The Lorrain Bridge is listed on the National Register of Historic sites due to its unique design style and construction method.

The original Bridge was constructed around 1895 as a wooden type drawbridge. In 1955, the draw portion of the bridge was disabled but the bridge remained open, connecting Calcasieu and Jeff Davis Parishes, until it was closed to traffic in March of 1998.

Thanks to the joint efforts of the Lorrain Bridge Association the Jeff Davis Police Jury and the Calcasieu Parish Police Jury, the bridge was rebuilt and opened to traffic on July 1, 2004

As it stretches over the East Bayou Lacassine, the Lorrain Bridge offers a great lesson in Louisiana history.

Powered by WorldNow

1808 Eraste Landry Rd, PO Box 90665,
Lafayette LA 70509

Telephone: 337.981.4823
Fax: 337.984.8323
Email: tip10@klfy.com

Can’t find something?
Powered by WorldNow
All content © Copyright 2000 - 2014 Young Broadcasting of Louisiana, Inc. A Media General Company.