New leadership for Acadia Parish Police Jury - KLFY News 10

New leadership for Acadia Parish Police Jury


Acadia Parish has new leadership after the police jury voted in a new president and vice president. During the January 14th meeting, A.J. "Fatty" Broussard (District 2) moved on from his position as president.

A.J. Credeur (District 6) promptly nominated longtime juror Alton "Al" Stevenson (District 1). With strong words, Credeur expressed his support for Stevenson, who is currently serving his fifth term.

"Abraham Lincoln once said dedication has no color and the same can be said for Mr. Stevenson," Credeur began. "He has served this jury the longest with care not only for his ward but for the entire parish."

The speech did not sway jurors, as Stevenson's nod failed on a 5-3 vote. Stevenson, visibly disappointed said, "I knew this was not going to work. Had I know you (Creduer) was going to say those things, I would have told you not to."

David Savoy (District 7), currently serving his first term, was nominated next for the position. Savoy, who sits on the Louisiana Association of Crawfish Farmers, was voted in unanimously.
"I just want to make sure that we come together as a panel and make decisions and get to the point quickly," Savoy said.

He also expressed his support for Stevenson, adding, "I love Al, and he always has the support of the people he serves and this jury. Unfortunately, tonight the votes just weren't in his favor."

Vice President Julie Borill (District 3) was replaced by Robert Guidry (District 8). Current Secretary-Treasurer Richard Latiolais retained his position.

  • Most Popular StoriesMost Popular StoriesMore>>

  • Live Doppler 10 Forecast

    Live Doppler 10 Forecast

    From Chief Meteorologist David Paul in the Live Doppler 10 Weather Center: SYNOPSIS – Some great weather is moving into Acadiana for the remainder of the week as the cold air departs. We'll only dropMore >>
    A gorgeous Easter Weekend is in store for Acadiana.  Temperatures each day will climb into the upper 70s to lower 80s with just a touch of humidity.  Rain chances have fallen below 10% and blue skies can be enjoyed as the next couple of days will be sunny to partly cloudy.  80s stay the theme heading into the next workweek and Tuesday looks to be the only decent shot of rainfall with isolated showers and storms possible.More >>
  • ATC Shuts Down “The Keg”

    ATC Shuts Down “The Keg”

    Lafayette, LA: Last night around midnight, Alcohol & Tobacco Control agents went into "The Keg" to conduct a compliance inspection. After receiving information that the establishment was allowing kidsMore >>
    After receiving information that The Keg was allowing kids under the age of eighteen on the premise, as well as selling alcohol to them, ATC sent in undercover operatives to verify these complaints.More >>
  • Man dies while attacking Opelousas woman

    Man dies while attacking Opelousas woman

    One man's death after attacking an Opelousas woman in her home early Thursday morning has left Opelousas police with many questions. According to police, the victim was awakened at 1:30 a.m. by a manMore >>
    One man's death while attacking an Opelousas woman in her home early Thursday morning has left Opelousas police with many questions.More >>
Powered by WorldNow
All content © Copyright 2000 - 2014 WorldNow and KLFY. All Rights Reserved. For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service.