Saints Announce Schedule for 2013 Training Camp - KLFY News 10

Saints Announce Schedule for 2013 Training Camp

Posted:

The New Orleans Saints will open 2013 Training Camp Presented by Verizon on Thursday, July 25 when all players report for physicals, meetings and conditioning. The Saints will hold their strength and conditioning tests and meetings on Thursday, July 25 and will begin non-padded practice sessions on Friday, July 26 from 8:50-11:50 a.m. The Saints will conduct the identical schedule on Saturday, July 27. On Sunday (July 28), the Saints will begin padded practice sessions at 8:50-11:50 a.m. and will practice each day at the same time (8:50-11:50 a.m.) through Friday, August 2. On Saturday, August 3 the Saints will host a scrimmage (time to be announced). The Saints will not practice on Sunday, August 4.

 

On Monday, August 5, the Saints will hold practice from 4:30-6:30 p.m. The Saints will then hold practices beginning at 8:50-11:50 a.m. on Tuesday, August 6 and Wednesday, August 7. On Thursday, August 8 the Saints will hold practice at 4:30-6:30 p.m.

The Saints will then begin preseason play on August 9, 2013 when they host the Kansas City Chiefs at the Mercedes-Benz Superdome at 7:00 p.m. The Saints will then have an off-day on Saturday, August 10. The Saints will return to training camp practices on Sunday, August 11 with a practice from 4:30-6:30 p.m. The Saints will then hold practices at 8:50-11:50 a.m. on Monday, August 12 through Wednesday, August 14. On Thursday, August 15, the Saints will hold practice from 4:30-6:30 p.m; this practice will conclude the 2013 Training Camp and will be the final practice open to the public. The Saints host their second consecutive home preseason game of 2013 at the Mercedes-Benz Superdome on Friday, August 16 against the Oakland Raiders. Kickoff is slated for 7:00 p.m.

For fans wishing to attend, training camp practice sessions are available on a first-come, first-served basis. Bleacher seating is available along the north and west sides of the team's training facility; please note---there is no reserved seating. Standing room along the fence

line is permitted. There is no admission charge for watching training camp practice and parking is free. Public parking is available in parking lots close to the team facility off of Airline Drive in Metairie. Please Note:

*Practice times and field locations are subject to change with little or no advance warning at the discretion of the Football Operations Staff.

*Media and Fan alerts, updates and schedule changes will be made daily on www.neworleanssaints.com once training camp starts or by clicking on to Twitter @Saints Practice Access & New Orleans Saints Media Policies:

Practices will be open in their entirety to pre-approved accredited media only. Members of the media are asked to email their request for practice access to Matt Mendelson (matt.mendelson@saints.nfl.com) at least 24 hours in advance of the day (or days) on which they wish to cover practice.

The team will implement regular season media policies starting with the Sunday, August 18 practice.

Below, please find the 2013 Training Camp Media Policy and Schedule: Interview Availability

Player Access:

Select players will be made available in a podium setting on a regular basis. A list of players scheduled for the podium will be sent out every few days via email. Additionally, players will be available for on-field interviews following practice. It is recommended that all interview requests be made at least 24 hours in advance and be submitted through Doug Miller, Justin Macione or Matt Mendelson.

Note: Due to limited space and size constraints, there will be no open locker room media sessions during camp.

Coach Access: Assistant Coach Interviews: Reporting/Media Viewing

Photos and Video:

the practice fields. (This includes the special teams' portion of practice.) Most practices will be open throughout its entirety for full video and photography shooting.

Tactical Information: Injuries: Electronic and Battery-Powered Equipment:

2013 NEW ORLEANS SAINTS TRAINING CAMP SCHEDULE Date

Practice

Times

Location

Notes

Thurs., July 25

Reporting Day/Cond. Test

Metairie, LA

Closed to Media

Fri., July 26

Practice

8:50-11:50 a.m.

Metairie, LA

Non-Padded

Sat., July 27

Practice

8:50-11:50 a.m.

Metairie, LA

Non-Padded

Sun., July 28

Practice

8:50-11:50 a.m.

Metairie, LA

Mon., July 29

Practice

8:50-11:50 a.m.

Metairie, LA

Tues., July 30

Practice

8:50-11:50 a.m.

Metairie, LA

Wed., July 31

Practice

8:50-11:50 a.m.

Metairie, LA

Thurs., Aug. 1

Practice

8:50-11:50 a.m.

Metairie, LA

Officials

Fri., Aug. 2

Practice

4:00-6:45 p.m.

Metairie, LA

Officials

Sat., Aug. 3

Scrimmage

TBA

Metairie, LA

Family Day

Sun., Aug. 4

Players Day Off

Mon., Aug. 5

Practice

4:30-6:30 p.m.

Metairie, LA

Tues., Aug. 6

Practice

8:50-11:50 a.m.

Metairie, LA

Wed., Aug. 7

Practice

8:50-11:50 a.m.

Metairie, LA

Thurs., Aug. 8

Practice

4:30-6:30 p.m.

Metairie, LA

Fri., Aug. 9

Saints vs. Chiefs

7:00 p.m.

Mercedes-Benz Superdome

Preseason Game #1

Sat., Aug. 10

Players Day Off

Sun., Aug. 11

Practice

4:30-6:30 p.m.

Metairie, LA

Mon., Aug. 12

Practice

8:50-11:50 a.m.

Metairie, LA

Tues., Aug. 13

Practice

8:50-11:50 a.m.

Metairie, LA

Wed., Aug. 14

Practice

8:50-11:50 a.m.

Metairie, LA

Thurs., Aug. 15

Practice

4:30-6:30 p.m.

Metairie, LA

CAMP BREAKS

Fri., Aug. 16

Saints vs. Raiders

7:00 p.m.

Mercedes-Benz Superdome

Preseason Game #2

When the team is practicing in the indoor facility and when the practices are closed to the public, use of cell phones, Twitter, blogging, etc. are prohibited. When practices are open to the public, media are allowed to Tweet, blog, etc., with the exception of reporting on injuries. Saints' policy is that the media are not allowed to report on injuries that happen during practice until such time as Coach Payton addresses the situation following practice. As consistent with the past, nothing can be reported that is of a tactical nature. Formations, who is lining up where, who is rushing the quarterback (and from where), gimmick plays, etc. are included in tactical information.

On specified days during training camp, still photography and videotaping are only allowed during individual position drills or when players are entering Assistant coaches will be available at least once each week during training camp. Coach Payton will be available at the banner after every practice. In the event of inclement weather, (including rain, thunderstorms and extreme heat) practices will be moved indoors and will be closed to the public. Football Comm. Asst., (504) 731-1763; Matt.Mendelson@Saints.nfl.com , Football Comm. Manager, (504) 731-1848; Justin.Macione@Saints.nfl.com , Ex. Dir. of Football Comm., (504) 731-1894; Doug.Miller@Saints.nfl.com , Senior VP of Comm., (504) 731-1794; Greg.Bensel@Saints.nfl.com

 

Powered by WorldNow

1808 Eraste Landry Rd, PO Box 90665,
Lafayette LA 70509

Telephone: 337.981.4823
Fax: 337.984.8323
Email: tip10@klfy.com

Can’t find something?
Powered by WorldNow
All content © Copyright 2000 - 2014 Young Broadcasting of Louisiana, Inc. A Media General Company.