Acadiana lawmen join justice hall of fame - KLFY News 10

Acadiana lawmen join justice hall of fame


Seven names will be added to the Louisiana Justice Hall of Fame. Two of the inducted lawmen are from Acadiana. They will join 70 others handed the award by the Louisiana State Penitentiary Museum.


A bit of a surprise for New Iberia Parish Sheriff Louis Ackal. Ackal says it's an honor to be among the seven named. "I don't know if I really deserve it, but you never think you do because you don't do your job because it's your job," says Sheriff Ackal.


Ackal retired from the state police in 1984 as troop commander and head of narcotics. The sheriff is an expert in forensic photography. The New Iberia Kiwanis club was right on point . They named him "Outstanding Lawman of The Year."

"I found it to be rewarding and not as glamorous most people think it is but it's been a great experience," says Ackal.


Another Acadiana inductee is 15th Judicial District Judge Jules Edwards. He's a pioneer of the drug court movement. Served in the Louisiana Army National Guards. On the State Sentencing Commission and State Judiciary Commission.


Edward has served in all 3 branches of state government. "Many people have asked me to do many things. Sometimes you get a little frustrated, but this kind of recognition encourages me to continue to move forward."


Edwards work isn't done. This Justice Hall of Fame inductee says he wants to see people move to a posture of being smart in crime. "There have been great strides in efforts to get people who commit criminal offenses to receive the appropriate penalty in the appropriate corrections. I'm very pleased."


Ceremonies will be held at the Angola prison museum and in Baton Rouge.

For information call 225-655-2592 or visit the museum's website at

Powered by WorldNow

1808 Eraste Landry Rd, PO Box 90665,
Lafayette LA 70509

Telephone: 337.981.4823
Fax: 337.984.8323

Can’t find something?
Powered by WorldNow
All content © Copyright 2000 - 2014 Young Broadcasting of Louisiana, Inc. A Media General Company.