Dr. MLK, JR. Mass and Award Ceremony - KLFY News 10

Dr. MLK, JR. Mass and Award Ceremony


The Diocese of Lafayette honored 88 individuals for their charitable work and strong values, Friday night, at the 27th annual Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King, JR. Mass and award ceremony. Those honored, according to celebrant, Most Rev. Michael Jarrell, are present day examples of the values King exemplified.

"We try to recognize those in our parishes, people who exemplify those values. Those who recognize human dignity and charity to other people."

Jarrell said King's principles are ones that are shared with the Christian faith.

"The principals that he used to reach his conclusions and to foster his activity are principals that are forever. He was one that exemplified love for humanity and for the dignity of human beings"

Religious organization, Black Christian Ministries sponsored the celebration. Director Stephanie Bertrand said those being honored are not only good examples in their community, but make charity and selfless-ness a way of life

"People do things within their church. They've ministered to people in prison, carry out the needs of people who are homeless, and people who actually have a sense of hopelessness."

Fr. Michael Sucharski, Pastor of St. Joseph Catholic Church was the homolist for the ceremony.

Each pastor or pastoral community in the parishes of the diocese nominated individuals for the award in November of 2012.

Those honored include:



Linda Woodruff of St. Mary Magdalen Christian Service Center

Ada Johnson and Lois Jordan of St. Theresa of the Child Jesus

Percy Baltazar of St. Catherine of Alexandria

Northly Broussard, Verlie Davis and Isaac Thomas St. Francis of Assisi

Mary Gordon and Rita LeDoux of Sacred Heart

Lionel Ryes, Sr. of St. Joseph

Laura Broussard of Our Lady of the Assumption

Richard Calais and Jim Martin of St. Joseph Catholic Church

Geraldine Calais and Dianne Frederick of St. Rose of Lima Catholic Church

Wallace Citizen and Ella M. "Jane" Savoy of Our Mother of Mercy Catholic Church

Charlesa Bernard of St. Theresa of Avila Catholic Church

John David Frederick, Courtney Marie Leblanc, Dylan John LeBlanc and Noah Gregory Touchet of Our Lady of the Lake Catholic Church

Henry Broussard, Dylan Eric George, Eliza Nezey and Maybelline Trahan of St. Martin de Porres Catholic Church

Cecile R. Hamilton and Mary R. Rideaux of St. Benedict the Moor Catholic Church

Linda Lockett, Eric and Cynthia J. Metz, Velda Metz and Elnora Sonnier of St. Peter the Apostle Catholic Church

Elodia V. Navy of St. Jules Catholic Church

Frances Richard of St. Charles Borromeo Catholic Church

Jacqueline Francis of Our Lady of the Rosary Catholic Church

Tina Chargois of Holy Rosary/St. Francis Cabrini Catholic Church

John Brady LeBlanc of Cathedral of St. John the Evangelist

Jules Edwards of Immaculate Heart of Mary Catholic Church

Novella Dugas, Thomas Helaire, Mabel Malveaux and Warren Senegal of Our Lady Queen of Peace Catholic Church

Brenda Dejean, Terry and Carolyn Dugas, Brandy Jolivette and Raimy Living of St. Anthony Catholic Church

Rena Arceneaux and Albertine Locklear of St. Jules Catholic Church

John Pete and Joseph Provost of St. Paul the Apostle Catholic Church

Anna Belle Guidry of Holy Family Catholic Church

Marquis Simon of Immaculate Conception Catholic Church

Elvina Ward of St. Catherine Catholic Church

Rev. Kenneth Domingue of St. Leo the Great Catholic Church

Clara Anthony, Jimmie George, Martha Jones and Andrea Willis of Our Lady of Victory Catholic Church

Bonnie Delahoussaye of St. Nicholas Catholic Church

Bertina Papillion of St. Ann Catholic Church

Risley Mouton of St. Joseph Catholic Church

Grace Credeur and Lou Theriot of St. Joseph Catholic Church

Peter Williams of Nativity of Our Lady Catholic Church

Bruce Freese of Our Lady of Perpetual Help Catholic Church

Richard Guidry of Sacred Heart of Jesus Catholic Church

Anna Mae Mouton of St. Edward Catholic Church

Farice Daigle and Mary L. Daigle of Holy Ghost Catholic Church

Joseph Thomas of St. Jules Mission Catholic Church

Shirley Rene of St. Mary Catholic Church

Menda Batiste, Winfield Ledet, Victor Mallery and Melba Malveaux of Notre Dame Catholic Church

Kierra Moneé Cole of St. Martin de Porres Catholic Church

Joseph Keller of Immaculate Conception Catholic Church

Barbara R. Durand and Patricia A. Trent of Holy Trinity Catholic Church

Mary Ellen Baggett, Tina De Leon and Barbara Journet of St. Anne Catholic Church

Dora F. Broussard of Knights of Peter Claver Ladies Auxiliary, Little Theresa Court No. 11

Mabel Denise Taylor and Deacon Anthony and Mary Francis Ozene of Office of Black Catholic Ministries

Powered by WorldNow

1808 Eraste Landry Rd, PO Box 90665,
Lafayette LA 70509

Telephone: 337.981.4823
Fax: 337.984.8323
Email: tip10@klfy.com

Can’t find something?
Powered by WorldNow
All content © Copyright 2000 - 2014 Young Broadcasting of Louisiana, Inc. A Media General Company.